Country:   England

Kazuo Ishiguro

Nobel Media AB. Photo: A. Mahmoud

Kazuo Ishiguro is a British novelist, screenwriter, and short-story writer, born in1954, in Nagasaki, Japan. He is widely regarded as one of the most important contemporary writers of English-language fiction and has been honored with numerous awards for his contributions to literature, including the Nobel Prize.

Ishiguro’s family moved to England when he was five years old, and he grew up in Guildford, Surrey. He studied English and Philosophy at the University of Kent before completing an MA in Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia. During his time at UEA, he worked with the renowned writer Malcolm Bradbury, who became a mentor and a lifelong friend.

Ishiguro’s first novel, “A Pale View of Hills,” was published in 1982 and won the Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize. His second novel, “An Artist of the Floating World” (1986), was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and won the Whitbread Book of the Year Award. He gained widespread acclaim with his third novel, “The Remains of the Day” (1989), which won the Booker Prize and was adapted into a highly successful film starring Anthony Hopkins and Emma Thompson.

Ishiguro has written seven novels to date, including “Never Let Me Go” (2005), which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and was adapted into a film starring Carey Mulligan, Keira Knightley, and Andrew Garfield. His most recent novel, “Klara and the Sun” (2021), has been highly acclaimed by critics and readers alike.

In addition to his novels, Ishiguro has written screenplays for film and television, including the script for the film “The White Countess” (2005), directed by James Ivory. He has also published several collections of short stories, including “Nocturnes: Five Stories of Music and Nightfall” (2009).

Ishiguro’s work is characterized by his spare, elegant prose style and his exploration of themes of memory, identity, and the passage of time. His writing often explores the experiences of people who are displaced or disconnected from their cultural roots, and his novels often employ the device of an unreliable narrator.

Ishiguro has been recognized with numerous awards and honors throughout his career, including the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2017. In Nobel Comittee’s words, Ishiguro was awarded the prize for the “novels of great emotional force, has uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world”. He has also been appointed an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) and a Knight Bachelor for his services to literature.


Some of the major awards won by Kazuo Ishiguro:

  1. Booker Prize (1989) – “The Remains of the Day”
  2. Whitbread Novel Award (1986, 1989) – “An Artist of the Floating World” and “The Remains of the Day”
  3. Order of the British Empire (OBE) (1995)
  4. Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres (1998)
  5. James Tait Black Memorial Prize (2005) – “Never Let Me Go”
  6. World Fantasy Award for Best Novel (2006) – “Never Let Me Go”
  7. Nobel Prize in Literature (2017)

In addition to these awards, Ishiguro has been shortlisted for several other prestigious literary prizes, including the Man Booker International Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award.

Kazuo Ishiguro's books OVID recommends:
Suscribe to OVID letter
Jon Fosse wins the 2023 Nobel Prize in Literature for his innovative plays and prose which give voice to the unsayable

The Norwegian writer and a favorite of OVID Jon Fosse has won the 2023 Nobel Prize in Literature “for his innovative plays and prose which give voice to the unsayable.” Among many of Fosse’s works, we at OVIDBLOGS love his A New Name: Septology VI-VII and recommed this hypnotic prose to readers over the world.

2023 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction Finalists Announced

Jonathan Escoffery, Kathryn Harlan, Dionne Irving, Yiyun Li, and Laura Warrell make up the short list of finalists for the 2023 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction.

Five books to read for Women’s History Month

To celebrate Women’s History Month and to recognize great contributions to the world of literature, OVID recommends 5 novels written by female writers. From an intimate story about the mother to the tumulus love story set in remote Dagestan, there is something for everyone in this recommendation.

Letters from the Nordic World: Examining the Best of Nordic Countries Literature

From fiction to social commentary, OVID brings you the best of Scandinavian literature in the 20th and 21st centuries.

Annie Ernaux wins the 2022 Nobel Prize in Literature

Annie Ernaux wins the 2022 Nobel Prize in Literature “for the courage and clinical acuity with which she uncovers the roots, estrangements and collective restraints of personal memory”.

Bride & Groom

A compelling novel that explores the complexities of modern-day love and marriage in contemporary Russia. With richly drawn characters and a vivid sense of place, “Bride & Groom” offers a fresh and captivating perspective on the joys and struggles of relationships in today’s world.

A Man’s Place

“A Man’s Place” by Annie Ernaux is a powerful memoir that explores the complex relationship between a father and daughter. Widely regarded as a classic of French literature, the book offers a deeply affecting portrait of family relationships and the impact that working-class values and patriarchal society have on them. Ernaux’s spare and direct writing…

The Centaur

The Centaur is a modern retelling of the legend of Chiron, the noblest and wisest of the centaurs, who, painfully wounded yet unable to die, gave up his immortality on behalf of Prometheus.

The Sun Walks Down

Longlisted for the 2023 Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction, Fiona McFarlane’s blazingly brilliant, The Sun Walks Down, tells the story of a boy lost in colonial Australia. Told in many ways and by many voices, this novel radiates with love, art, and the unbearable divine. A visionary tale; mythic, vivid, and bright with meaning.


Saul Bellow’s finest book, this National Book Award for Fiction winner presents a multifaceted portrait of a modern-day hero, a man struggling with the complexity of existence and longing for redemption. Herzog is a novel that is both deeply philosophical and highly engaging.

Carmen Boullosa

Alisa Ganieva

Alisa Ganieva is a contemporary Russian writer who was born in 1985, in the Dagestan Republic of the Russian Federation. She studied Oriental Studies and Journalism at the Russian State University for the Humanities in Moscow, and later received her PhD in Contemporary Russian Literature from the Institute of World Literature in Moscow. Ganieva first…

Naguib Mahfouz

Naguib Mahfouz is widely regarded as one of the most influential writers in modern Arabic literature. Born in Cairo, Egypt in 1911, Mahfouz spent much of his life writing novels, short stories, and screenplays that explored the complexities of Egyptian society and the human experience. Mahfouz’s early life was shaped by the cultural and political…

Annie Ernaux

Winner of the 2022 Nobel Prize for Literature, French author and academic Annie Ernaux was born on September 1, 1940, in Lillebonne, Normandy. She is widely regarded as one of the most significant writers of contemporary French literature and has been honored with numerous awards and accolades for her contributions to the literary world. Ernaux…

John Updike

John Updike was an American author and literary critic, born on March 18, 1932, in Reading, Pennsylvania. He is best known for his prolific writing career, which spanned over five decades, and produced more than sixty books, including novels, short story collections, poetry, and literary criticism. Updike’s early life was marked by his love of…

Get more from OVID.

Let OVID send you a curated selection of news on American literature directly to your inbox.